Delusions of Grandeur, or Why I Like Ordinary

Another episode of “I am THAT Mom…”

Does every mom think they will magically become a lover of holidays when they have a child?  I felt sure that there was some switch in me that would flip, that would make me LOVE Christmas songs and Christmas candy and buying Christmas gifts and giving Christmas gifts, for that matter.

No such luck.  I am a super failure at all holidays – not just Christmas, but ALL of them.  I’ve had three full holiday cycles with my kid, and I can safely say that the everyday mundane craziness that lives in my house doesn’t need the holidays.

What I know is, everyday is about joy and love for us.  We don’t need epic busyness, long lines, and super saver deals.  What we need is each other.  We celebrate all the small victories, the potty-training, song-singing, spontaneous affection that happens when no one is looking, especially Santa and Elf-on-the-Shelf.

These last few days before Christmas have the two of us constantly in kleenex and taking meds for our awesome Christmas colds, and still we’re laughing at the ordinary.  And if the birth of Jesus teaches us anything, it’s that the ordinary shouldn’t be discounted.  It’s in an ordinary stable, in an ordinary manger, in the MOST ordinary town in Judea, where a young girl gave her fiance’ and the world a most extraordinary gift.

 

Image

Leave a Reply

