Why not Green Eggs and Ham?

I do not like you, Sam I Am

One of the things I DREADED about becoming a mother was this book.  Some people in my family think this is the best book for kids, EVER.  My beef with this book is not the end – it’s a great lesson for kids with enough attention span to get there.  But in the years before then, they get pages and pages of a whiny guy who WON’T EAT SOMETHING.  Before then, they sure do hear “I do not like them,” and “I will not eat them,” enough times to make those words stick in a kid’s brain. Peanut, by the way, eats almost anything I put in front of her, and I plan on keeping it that way!

Our kids hear everything that we say, they do take it in, they absorb it all, and they will regurgitate it at the most inopportune moments, in this case, breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  So, Sam-I-Am, take it somewhere else.  Your friend who will not eat Green Eggs and Ham until page 40 is NOT welcome at our house.

Leave a Reply

